Anyone recognizing this gramophone/phonograph logo?

Discussions on Talking Machines of British or European Manufacture
nostalgia
Victor IV
Personal Text: Keep winding up

Anyone recognizing this gramophone/phonograph logo?

Post by nostalgia »

This one is for sale...but I dont know. I am not good at spotting all fakes yet.
The horn looks old, and the woodwork looks rough(?), but I anyway decided to upload the photo,
maybe there is something to learn for others too...
There is a logo on the side, and it makes me curious, if it is a logo at all.
Attachments
12.jpg

Sidewinder
Victor III

Re: Anyone recognizing this gramophone/phonograph logo?

Post by Sidewinder »

Hello

You mean the brass triangle. I think its just a decorative piece. For my tastes, and by the 1 photo, this gramophone is qualitatively better than the others you were looking at. I prefer it when the pieces are all original - Do you have other photo's?

nostalgia
Victor IV

Post by nostalgia »

I thought it was a logo, but I see now it is a metal/brass triangle. Yes, I also like this horn model, and if it is genuine it is interesting to me. The woodwork looks rustic, but that's maybe how some models are? I have asked for more photos, but upload the oness I have,even if these last two photos are very similar to the one so far uploaded.
To me, it looks like the upper lid is not closing completely, but I will also ask about this
And..., I have not purchased the German Triumphon (yet), but this also has to do with available funds....
Still, it could be interesting to try to reason out if this machine here, is of any value.
I will ask the seller for machine and soundbox photos.
Attachments
14.jpg
13.jpg

Lucius1958
Victor VI

Post by Lucius1958 »

"Rustic" is in the eye of the beholder: the cabinet may not be ornate, but it looks elegant enough.

The motor board may not be closing entirely because of warping; there are ways to remedy that. Good luck!

Bill

epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special