What is this?

Discussions on Talking Machines of British or European Manufacture
nostalgia
Victor IV
Personal Text: Keep winding up

What is this?

Post by nostalgia »

I am new to collecting, but now I am tired of looking online at Columbia portable phonographs during the last 3 hours. After looking at hundreds of photos, I still can't find this model. The closest I have come is a Edison P-1 Portable, it looks similar...but this is obviously a Columbia.
Anyone who recognizes it?
Thanks...a lot.)
Attachments
Columbia whatever.jpg

fmblizz
Victor IV

Re: What is this?

Post by fmblizz »

doing a Google search it looks very much like a Columbia Vivatonal GRAFONOLA which were a UK brand I believe.

blizz

nostalgia
Victor IV

Post by nostalgia »

Link? I tried google this Vivatonal, but could not find a similar one with the crank close to the turntable? Anyone?

OrthoFan
Victor V

Post by OrthoFan »

You're right, with some differences involving the hardware, the speed adjustment knob, etc., it's very close to the Edison P1 -- https://www.intertique.com/EdisonNeedleCutID.html -- which as noted in the article was actually produced by a company in Wisconsin that manufactured other brand portables.

As with Victor, Columbia in the United States outsourced the production of their portable phonographs starting in the early 1930s. I've seen other Columbia portables from the mid to later 1930s that were nearly identical to those sold under the Birch/Waters Conley, etc. brand names.

I've no clue as to the model or model number, or if it even had one.

OrthoFan

fmblizz
Victor IV

Post by fmblizz »

I was basically comparing the brand/tag.... seem to be exactly the same an note the MADE IN ENGLAND..

Blizz
Attachments
vivatonal.jpg
vivatonal.jpg (52.26 KiB) Viewed 1737 times

OrthoFan
Victor V

Post by OrthoFan »

fmblizz wrote:I was basically comparing the brand/tag.... seem to be exactly the same an note the MADE IN ENGLAND..

Blizz