German Electrola gramophone Identification / Restoration Tips & Advice

Discussions on Talking Machines of British or European Manufacture
spinalflow
Victor Jr
Personal Text: Record Collector In Residence

German Electrola gramophone Identification / Restoration Tips & Advice

Post by spinalflow »

I recently found this machine in my local classifieds. It was listed in non working slightly worn condition for $80
1.jpg
2.1.jpg
Before purchasing I did a little research. I could not find the exact model although, I was able to determined it was very similar to a HMV 109 or between a 107 & 109 German made. I could not find much else on it. Although it seems many of the HMV motors are similar. I am new to gramophone motors and HMV's although, as I researched them it seemed that many people around the world like them, especially the portables. I have worked on Edison's and Victor's so I figured what better way to learn about the gramophone motors than this project.
After days of trying to reach the seller and more days and failed meeting. I was finally able to get him to meet me, he asked to meet at a burger king after 10pm. Making it a bit difficult to do any real inspection before purchase. However, I did come prepared with a good light and tool kit.
The seller said he had it for a couple years and could never make it work and had tried to sell it for $250 gradually lowering the price over the years. He would not provide any other history.