Interesting old gramophone for repair ?

Post links to auctions and classifieds here
poodling around
Victor V

Interesting old gramophone for repair ?

Post by poodling around »

This looked very interesting to me. I am no expert at all and just liked the look of it.

I am not on ebay so will not be after it but wonder if anyone has an opinion about this item ?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Antique-Colu ... rk:10:pf:0
Attachments
old1.jpg
old.jpg

epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: An analogue relic trapped in a digital world.

Re: Interesting old gramophone for repair ?

Post by epigramophone »

This machine has been on and off UK eBay for many months. What is probably putting off potential bidders is the difficulty in finding the correct horn, which has a threaded end rather than the more common bayonet fitting.

poodling around
Victor V

epigramophone wrote:This machine has been on and off UK eBay for many months. What is probably putting off potential bidders is the difficulty in finding the correct horn, which has a threaded end rather than the more common bayonet fitting.

Oh, I see.

Thank you epigramophone.

jboger
Victor IV

Post by jboger »

I find it an attractive machine as well. I suspect a typical Columbia screw-in horn would work. These turn up occasionally in my area, often with the paint in bad shape. Nickel-plated ones fare better. I don't recognize the motor. I see it has no barrel for the mainspring, as made. The needle bar is missing. I understand replacements can be had here in the States. We have a situation on our hands; the missing parts may be more readily available in my country than abroad. Unfortunately there's a large body of water between here and there which may make shipping costs high (for the horn) and transportation risky.

epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special

Post by epigramophone »

I agree, an attractive machine but potentially difficult to complete here in the UK.