Is this worth it?

Post links to auctions and classifieds here
alienj
Victor Jr

Is this worth it?

Post by alienj »

Not sure if I'm posting this in the right place. I'm a newbie... To this site and to this "hobby". This is near me and I'm wondering if it would be worth my while to pursue it. I don't yet know how to tell a fake from a real deal (but I'm learning)! Thanks!

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/it ... tid=dXMIcH

Raphael
Victor IV

Re: Is this worth it?

Post by Raphael »

Doesn’t matter if it’s a fake (which it isn’t), real, or a hologram, if it works and it’s something you would want, go for it. $100 doesn’t get you very much these days, and you can enjoy the machine, learn from it, and have fun all at the same time.

Raphael

Granby
Victor II
Personal Text: The Granby Phonograph Historian

Post by Granby »

I agree with Raphael, he makes a great point.

I enjoy tracking prices in my part of the country. There is a possibility you can find a floor model Victrola a little cheaper these days. However, your timing will have to be perfect or you will have to attend the "right" auction. Plus, if you do scoop one up for the $50 to $90 range, it may not have the right tone arm, reproducer, or be missing hardware, etc. In my humble opinion, $100 isn't bad if it works and plays. Plus, who knows, maybe the seller would entertain an offer of $85 or $90 that would make it even more appealing....

Perhaps I am living in the past (20 years ago... LOL) but I still think a floor model Victrola is worth $200 plus in the retail antique mall setting.... So, it probably isn't a bad investment. By the way, I am not a certified appraiser, just a guy who has been collecting these things "on and off" since the late 1990's.

Good luck!
- Chris
Licensed Funeral Director (NC/VA) Historian, Collector, Enthusiast.....

Author of: Norfolk's Greatest Home Furnishers: The Story of Phillip Levy & Co. and The Granby Phonograph

Jerry B.
Victor Monarch Special