New Record Question

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
SonnyPhono
Victor III
Personal Text: Drawing a blank...

New Record Question

Post by SonnyPhono »

I picked up about 200 records this tonight and being that I am still pretty new to the phonograph world, just wanted to post some pictures to get any input as to whether or not they have much value. Any information would be great! Thanks!

gramophoneshane
Victor VI

Re: New Record Question

Post by gramophoneshane »

It probably depends what's on them, but generally these are $1 records. It's really only the very early Japanese & Chinese Berliners, Victors/G&T, Columbias etc that are worth anything.
These records made in the teens right through to the 1950's are just like ours, and many many thousands were pressed & still survive. The Columbia's are extremely common in fact. A "valuable" title/artist on the labels pictured would only be in the $5-$10 range.

Wolfe
Victor V

Post by Wolfe »

The stripped grooves on the record in the second photo would severly devalue it in any case. Won't be much fun to listen to either, sorry.

Neophone
Victor III

Post by Neophone »

SonnyPhono,

Very neat labels and sleeve nonetheless. Thanks for sharing them.

Regards,
John

Listening to the Victrola fifteen minutes a day will alter and brighten your whole life.
Use each needle only ONCE!

MordEth
Victor IV
Personal Text: Contact me for TMF tech support.

Post by MordEth »

SonnyPhono,

Could you take a larger image of the text of the first label and the bottom of the sleeve?

I was trying to figure out what it says, but the top line seems to be gibberish. :D