Help Identifiying Early Edison Machine

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
swarggs
Victor Jr

Help Identifiying Early Edison Machine

Post by swarggs »

I am looking for some information on this machine. I believe it is an early version of the Edison Spring Motor Phonograph that was sold by the North American Phonograph Company.

I'm trying to find out what year this would have been made. The information I could find suggests early 1890's, but I am a novice in this field and thought I could get a better timeline here. From what I can surmise, The North American Phonograph Company didn't sell many of these machines.

A few things noteworthy while viewing these photos:

- Sometime in the last century a wooden trim piece was constructed for below the cylinder. It's not fastened in anyway and I don't believe it was part of the original design. This was obstructing the text "NORTH AMERICA" above "PHONOGRAPH CO" on the plate that lists the patent dates.

- The plate behind the reproducer states "MODEL-C" This is not visible in my photo.

- The vertical plate on the left hand side of the unit states "This Machine is sold by THE NORTH AMERICAN PHONOGRAPH COMPANY under the restriction that it shall not be used within THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY".

- This unit runs and played one the cylinders that came with it.

Along with the year made, I'm curious of its worth. Also, maybe the best way to sell it? This is part of an estate liquidation I am assisting my in-laws with, but I'm half tempted to purchase it myself. Just the little research I have done on this era has been fascinating. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

phonogfp
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: "If you look for the bad in people expecting to find it, you surely will." - A. Lincoln

Re: Help Identifiying Early Edison Machine

Post by phonogfp »