Brunswick Seville (model 10-7) motor speed issue

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
CharliePhono
Victor III
Personal Text: "The kerosene record player is not a very efficient device." ~Frank Zappa

Brunswick Seville (model 10-7) motor speed issue

Post by CharliePhono »

I have zero experience with Brunswick motors, though realizing all motors are the same in principle, I cannot figure out how to repair/regulate the speed on this motor. With the speed control knob turned completely to the right (slowest speed), the machine continues to speed up and the regulator basically does nothing to change this. This began happening after playing the machine over 2-3 evenings. It seems the pad that contacts the governor is made of felt rather than leather. I'm wondering now if I should not have oiled it as I'm accustomed to doing with the leather pads? As I said, turning the speed control knob seems to have very little, if any, effect on the speed -- it seems to be getting increasingly faster on its own. What can I do to remedy this?

Outside of that, the motor is pristine and performs like a champ. I only had to do a light degreasing/cleaning and re-lube and it purrs like a sleeping kitten. Thanks in advance.

Lucius1958
Victor VI

Re: Brunswick Seville (model 10-7) motor speed issue

Post by Lucius1958 »

Have you watched the governor while the motor is running? Do the pads make contact with the disc?

There may be several explanations: the governor shaft might be so gummed up that it prevents the disc from moving out; or someone may have replaced the governor springs with something stronger and less flexible; or the governor bearings might be out of adjustment...

Bill

CharliePhono
Victor III
Personal Text: "The kerosene record player is not a very efficient device." ~Frank Zappa

Post by CharliePhono »

Lucius1958 wrote:Have you watched the governor while the motor is running? Do the pads make contact with the disc?