The Talking Machine Forum — For All Antique Phonographs & Recordings

It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How to adjust speed on Diamond Disc with no speed contro
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:16 am 
Offline
Victor IV
User avatar
Man who ride on tiger find it very difficult to dismount! Charlie Chan
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:29 am
Posts: 1523
Location: Temecula, CA
My phono mechanic made a simple tool for me to do this on my Schubert Edisonic. All he did was take a piece of scrap sheet metal about ½" wide and about 5" long. and Dremeled out the middle part on the end so that two fingers were sticking out. And there's your tool! It works a lot better than my needle nose pliers which kept slipping off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to adjust speed on Diamond Disc with no speed contro
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2018 10:04 pm 
Online
Victor V
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:54 pm
Posts: 2394
Well after a bit of frustration with pliers, both needle nose and regular, I gave up. It wasn't a critical project.

Yesterday, I had need of a wire cutter for something completely unrelated. Then I realized that the top of the wire cutter had 2 thin, flat bars, pretty much exactly what I needed. So I tried it and Bingo! I can turn the cam, at least a bit, but hopefully enough to make a 1 rpm difference.

It's still going to be a pain to adjust, but at least now I know something that will work!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to adjust speed on Diamond Disc with no speed contro
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:19 pm 
Offline
Victor IV
User avatar
Man who ride on tiger find it very difficult to dismount! Charlie Chan
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 12:29 am
Posts: 1523
Location: Temecula, CA
Now I'm having some trouble with the speed control on my IU-19. I noticed when playing B. A. Rolfe's Bye, Bye Blackbird that the turntable was way too fast. It was obvious when the singer started to sing. I have seen my technician adjust the speed control using a homemade spanner wrench. When I tried to adjust the speed, I found I couldn't make the cam bolt budge. One problem with the wrench is that I can't put a lot of torque on it because the wrench only contacts the cam in two tiny slots and I have to hold the wrench with two weak fingers. No room for a hand to get in there. Does that bolt directly above the cam need to be loosened to adjust the speed bolt?


Attachments:
P1010034.JPG
P1010034.JPG [ 3.78 MiB | Viewed 141 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ColoradoPhonograf, Curt A, larryh and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Americanized by Maël Soucaze.