Wax Amberol Records: what's your opinion?

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
Stephen_Heatherly
Victor I

Wax Amberol Records: what's your opinion?

Post by Stephen_Heatherly »

I've been collecting and restoring phonographs since I was 12 years old. I'm 24 now and still very much into the antique phonograph hobby. In the last 12 years I've only had one wax amberol record which I accidentally broke when I put the warm record onto the cold mandrel of one of my machines. Fortunately the record was in bad shape anyway so it was not a major loss. I've recently purchased several more wax amberol records that I have been playing on my edison home model a with an S reproducer. Some play very well, others not so much. While the ones in good shape play surprisingly well they seem to lack the volume and depth that the edison gold moulded records and blue amberols have. What has been your experience with the wax amberols?

Stephen

estott
Victor Monarch
Personal Text: I have good days...this might not be one of them

Re: Wax Amberol Records: what's your opinion?

Post by estott »

The material was not up to the task- even a few plays could start wearing the high notes. Customers at the time noted a rapid degrading.

Chuck
Victor III
Personal Text: Richards Laboratories http://www.richardslaboratories.com producing high quality cylinder blanks

Post by Chuck »

Wax Edison Amberol 4M cylinders are unique.

I have a strange sort of fondness for them even
though they are so delicate and unpredictable.

Part of that goes way back for me. I heard my
first one of those over 50 years ago.
When I was a young boy, my father and I would
sometimes drive to local antique shops in the Milwaukee
area to look for cylinders. At that time, many
wax Amberols were to be found.

I still have and play many of those records.
Some of them cracked, others started skipping.

But overall, if they are handled with care and not
played too much they generally last fairly well.