A var. of Polly portable oscillator or horn color&dimension

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
A Ford 1
Victor II

A var. of Polly portable oscillator or horn color&dimension

Post by A Ford 1 »

Hi All,
My friend George Epple arrived with his Polly oscillator yesterday and it varies in color and dimensions from the ones I have seen on The Talking Machine Forum. His Original Oscillator is 16 ⅜ inches in diameter with a ¼ inch hole the angle cut out at the center is 47 degrees as measured with an angle gauge (I am a Mechanical Engineer so all measurements are accurate) the added strip is 1 ⅛ inches wide. I did not measure the length of the added strip and it should be noted that the material is not removed from the 47 degree wedge area that is under the strip. I will try to add the length of the strip to this post in the future. I have an email George sent to me with a picture of the Oscillator that I can send to any one interested. The material is a very hard brown paper that is 0.017 of an inch thick and it has the color print of the Polly parrot on it.
Thank you all for the help I have received along the way to getting a speed control and reproduction Oscillator.
Allen
P.S. So far no one other than G. Epple has reported having a spring under the speed control knob.

pianolist
Victor I

Re: A var. of Polly portable oscillator or horn color&dimen

Post by pianolist »

This sale brochure I have lists several styles of “oscillator”. I have only seen the heavy paper with either Polly’s picture on it or the basket weave pattern.
Attachments
B851F231-7B0E-4FA1-B907-24C91B25212D.jpeg
4F0C869D-6BE8-4C76-BC82-4C5DD3F55EDE.jpeg
472444F2-5B90-49DE-95F2-8DF78C6D4591.jpeg

A Ford 1
Victor II

Post by A Ford 1 »

Hi pianolist,