Questions about Victor Junior

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
phonogal
Victor IV
Personal Text: Life's Short. Be Happy!

Questions about Victor Junior

Post by phonogal »

I recently picked up a barn fresh or should I say barn not so fresh Victor Junior. It came complete with rust and mud dabber nests. The reproducer is stuck tight in the horn. I have applied PB blaster today but need to know if the reproducer twists off or just pulls out. Thanks, Jan

GregVTLA
Victor III
Personal Text: Greg

Re: Questions about Victor Junior

Post by GregVTLA »

Most Victor machines have a pin that you twist clockwise about 1/8th of a turn and then pull it off, however I'm unsure how far back that practice goes. If it's an exhibition, then it likely uses the above system. However, i have no knowledge of the locking system for a Victor Junior Reproducer.

Hope I could help somewhat,
Greg

phonogal
Victor IV

Post by phonogal »

Its a concert and yes there is a pin in the horn (elbow?) Got it out. Thank you. Now to get the platter to come off. It's stuck solid.

Jerry B.
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: Stop for a visit when in Oregon.

Post by Jerry B. »

Hi Jan,

Nice find! A Junior is a difficult model to find. The majority of Juniors have a special "Junior" reproducer which is very much like a Concert. But there was a factory adaptor which allowed an owner to use an normal rear mount type Exhibition. I suppose a rear mount type Concert could also be used with the adaptor, but I can't see any advantage with a Concert. It is possible that someone cut off part of the tube on a long throat Concert and adapted it for use on the Junior.
If it hasn't been modified, there should be a pin in the elbow portion of the horn.