Oak 1912 Victrola VV-XIV Questions

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
andyjon100
Victor I

Oak 1912 Victrola VV-XIV Questions

Post by andyjon100 »

Hello, I'm a newbie to the forum, although not to mechanical phonographs (I have a Brunswick 200 and a Columbia Grafonola). I'm a radio guy that has become the somewhat reluctant owner of said Victrola. It's easier and much shorter to direct you to the thread on ARF to tell the story of how I came to possess it - http://antiqueradios.com/forums/viewtop ... 9&t=347077. I never intended to have a whole machine, as beautiful as it is - I initially bought the motor to pass on to another member (we obviously agree that we aren't going to separate the machine now). It's missing the portion of the tonearm from the pivot to the reproducer, as well as the reproducer, the spent needle cup, the lock escutcheon,the crank, and the record rack assembly underneath. Can anyone tell me what I'm facing locating these parts? I see a few gold tonearms on feepay, but will any front portion fit? I want to keep the section I have - the paint and striping on the bracket are perfect. I also see a few odd female threaded cranks, but was the original crank gold, too? The part that concerns me is the record rack.
Thank you in advance!
Andy
Attachments
1a.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
11.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
10.jpg
9.jpg

Oceangoer1
Victor III
Personal Text: "I dreamt of Paris again last night"-Roger

Re: Oak 1912 Victrola VV-XIV Questions

Post by Oceangoer1 »

Oh my gosh! You certainly scored big on this one. The early Queen Anne version of the XIV is quite rare. It is more rare in oak, and even more rare in the dark oak finish that yours has. This certainly is a very worthy machine for restoration.

I read the thread on the ARF, and I am thrilled to hear that you eventually got to the cabinet, because this is a very very nice phonograph.