Reproducer Questions...

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
Curt A
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: Needle Tins are Addictive

Reproducer Questions...

Post by Curt A »

I'm no expert on Edison reproducers, so I thought I would consult you experts... I found these in a box of stuff from an antique dealer who said he bought a dresser at an auction that had a bunch of phonograph stuff still in it.

So, here are my questions: (1) What type of reproducer is the one with an arm and no engraving? It looks like an early Standard Speaker, but it doesn't have a weight on it. (2) I have most of an N reproducer, minus the needle bar and stylus and two N tail weights. Which tail weight is correct for an Edison Standard Model E ? Also, what needle bar and stylus is necessary to complete it? Will an H needle bar and stylus work, or is the N a special bar and stylus?

Thanks for your help. I would like to get the N rebuilt as soon as I can...

Curt
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 4.34.04 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 4.34.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 4.33.26 PM.png
"The phonograph† is not of any commercial value."
Thomas Alva Edison - Comment to his assistant, Samuel Insull.

"No one needs a Victrola XX, a Perfected Graphophone Type G, or whatever you call those noisy things."
My Wife

Stephen_Madara
Victor III
Personal Text: www.glassphonohorns.com

Re: Reproducer Questions...

Post by Stephen_Madara »

you can see where the N is Stamped over the H on the one tail.

phonogfp
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: "If you look for the bad in people expecting to find it, you surely will." - A. Lincoln

Post by phonogfp »

The earlier reproducer started life as a Standard Speaker in all probability. (I think all Recorders had stamping on the adjusting arm.) Obviously, someone has worked on it, replacing the original glass diaphragm with a later copper model, and substituting a different stylus bar for that of the Standard Speaker.

George P.

Curt A