VISITS

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
Raphael
Victor IV

VISITS

Post by Raphael »

I have been buying & selling antiques for over 25 years, and the business gradually grew from a part-time extension of my hobby to a full-time, virtually 24/7 operation since I “retired” in 2005.

My wife and I live in close proximity to the Ft. Lauderdale and Miami tourist and cruise ship areas. We learned a long time ago that lots of folks would like to stop by and “see our shop” while they are in the area on vacation. We don’t have a “shop”, and the entire business is conducted from inside our home and/or warehouse. Explaining this to people who want to come is problematic.

Just to be clear, we often entertain business clients that we know and trust. Some even stay overnight. But to allow complete strangers into our home, people who have never emailed, called, or otherwise communicated any interest whatsoever, is not only impractical (who are they, and what are they interested in?), but in this day and age patently risky and unsafe.

We have a lot of our inventory posted on line and readily provide full details upon request. Preparing for a visit not only takes time (moving stuff out of the way, out of closets, etc.) but the visit itself can take 3 to 4 hours at a minimum. Like I said, we have had visitors, and know the drill. We have had “Open Houses” for the Music Box Society, with up to 100 guests at a time.

My reason for mentioning all of this is prompted by the latest request for a visit, a person to whom I explained our situation to, and promptly called me a “F***ing A***hole”. Well, that I may be (and I’ve been called worse), but his response certainly justified my denying him a spur-of-the-moment visit.