78's: mostly junk?

Discussions on Records, Recording, & Artists
Big Beat
Victor O

78's: mostly junk?

Post by Big Beat »

While I'm working on my newly acquired Brunswick, I have a question about records themselves. I have been collecting LP's for over 25 years, so upon seeing a box of records at a yard sale, I know exactly what's worthwhile, and what's just junk to be left behind. Besides whatever interests me personally, I basically have a good idea as to what types of records, music and artists may be of interest to other collectors, and should be be picked up for trade or resale.

However, my knowledge of 78's is rather meager in comparison. I know what I like (1920's jazz, Billy Murray and Marion Harris type stuff) and I know what's most valuable (1930's rural blues, 1950's vocal groups). But the impression I get is that all other types of 78s are basically frisbees as far as most people are concerned. I have seen people throw them out by the crateful and nobody caring enough to rescue them, unless they fit one of the above genres. Is this basically how it is? What other types of 78's are generally of collector interest? Can someone educate me? Thanks!

Edisonfan
Victor V
Personal Text: Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration

Re: 78's: mostly junk?

Post by Edisonfan »

Well you have come to the right place. It's a shame to see people treat 78's as mostly junk, but they really are not. There is a great deal of good music on them. I think too many people became jaded once Lp's were introduced. That's also why most record collectors buy only vyinl, and from the 1950's on. Most people and collocters of latter music, don't see inherainet value in early 78's. Mainly becuse 78's have only one song per side, and think music that was recroded without the use of electricty, is too primative.