Did the Nazi's produce 78s and other obscure questions.

Discussions on Records, Recording, & Artists
NeedleSpeak
Victor Jr

Did the Nazi's produce 78s and other obscure questions.

Post by NeedleSpeak »

Hello Gents,

I am fairly new to this forum but already I've made a new friend or two and have been given advice on how to tend to my "new" victrola.

Now I need the attention from the 78 guys.

I'll start with my first question, not an easy one but I'm curious...was Germany pressing 78s in Germany during WWII, did the Germans press any 78s during WWI? Or was it an American practice only?

I've seen 78s to suggest that an American Marching band may have covered an Imperial German March, but that's about it.

Also, I'm new to collecting, so imagine my confusion finding a Johnny Mathis 78! What this taught me was that the 78 had a longer run than In thought. I figured by the 40s they were on the verge of extinction but apparently they are produced long after that.

I've recently dug through about 600 78s in an antique shop, it took all day but they were 20 cents each. I grabbed many interesting records and passed on many. I was seeking popular hits of the 20s and 30s, Helen Kane, Cab Callowayl maybe in 600 78s there would be an Eddie Cantor, but despite looking through all 600, I didn't find any of those artist's. My theory is perhaps the pile had been picked many times. I did take away some neat marches and one sided 78s that arm to date between 1904 and 06.

Lastly, I noticed that there was not much of a corilstion between movies and 78s. For instance, there is a movie starring Helen Kane, "Dangerous Nan Mcgrew" in which she performs a number of the same name. Despite how catchy it is, I've seen no evidence she recorded a 78 with that title. So were movies and 78s separate worlds?

Thank you in advance all who to take time to read, answer and educate.

gramophone-georg
Victor VI
Personal Text: Northwest Of Normal