New member needing Vitaphone help

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
mcgravy
Victor O

New member needing Vitaphone help

Post by mcgravy »

Hi All, wasn't sure where to post this. I posted it in machines first but thought maybe it should be here. I have been collecting phonographs since the mid 60's and will be 57 in a few days. I bought what I consider a really neat machine on Saturday at an auction. Attached is a picture from the auction firm. I had never even heard of a Vitaphone before now. I have no idea of value since I have never seen one for sale anywhere before but think I got a good deal on it.
I have been using this forum as a guest for several months and immediately searched for information about these machines when I got home with it Saturday evening. (What a wonderful resource this forum is). I found a thread about them posted by Micamonster explaining how they work but unfortunately the pictures had been deleted. According to his description my machine is missing a waxed string that connected the stylus bar to the reproducer.
Does anyone have a close-up photograph of this assembly that shows how it all connects? I would love to get this wonderful old machine functioning correctly again. The machine has Type 15 stamped on the data plate and a banner decal on the top of the motor board that explains the licensing agreement (the dark area just behind the turntable).
Thanks, Rick
Attachments
fi65.cgi.jpeg
fi65.cgi.jpeg (43.67 KiB) Viewed 4021 times

gregbogantz
Victor II

Re: New member needing Vitaphone help

Post by gregbogantz »