Need tutoring on proper use of Standard Speaker

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
gramophone-georg
Victor VI
Personal Text: Northwest Of Normal

Need tutoring on proper use of Standard Speaker

Post by gramophone-georg »

Like the title says... :D ... I'm just not completely understanding the concept and I've got no experience in it. I can't find any instructions for it, either. I just don't want to mess up the machine or my brown wax cylinders. I can't seem to get it to play, and it seems both styli are contacting the surface of the cylinder.
"He who dies with the most shellac wins"- some nutty record geek

gramophone-georg
Victor VI

Re: Need tutoring on proper use of Standard Speaker

Anyone? Paging Dr. Ola... Dr. Martin Ola. Paging Dr. Gordon... Dr. Rich Gordon... :lol:

TinfoilPhono
Victor IV

Post by TinfoilPhono »

I wouldn't even try using a Standard Speaker on brown wax.... They were notoriously difficult when they were new, and they're no better now. They track poorly and require near-constant fiddling.

I keep mine carefully boxed away in the drawer of my Class M and use an early Automatic with plain side arm to demonstrate how it plays. I have another one on a very early 2-clip Standard but that machine is a showpiece rather than something I use.

The Standard Speaker is a rare and historic item but it won't do your rare records any favors.

phonogfp
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: "If you look for the bad in people expecting to find it, you surely will." - A. Lincoln

Post by phonogfp »

I agree with Rene - the Standard Speaker is a nice historic artifact, but of little utility. There was a reason Edison stopped supplying it in the 1890s! :) I haven't used mine in 25 years.

Still, if you really want to know how it works, here are directions for it, as well as the Class M. Click on images once or twice to enlarge.

George P.
Edison001.jpg
Edison002.jpg

gramophone-georg
Victor VI

Thanks very much Rene and George.