Using A Turntable Stylus In Diamond B Reproducer?

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
12jslater
Victor II

Using A Turntable Stylus In Diamond B Reproducer?

Post by 12jslater »

Could I use a 3 mil diamond stylus on my diamond B reproducer in replace of my worn stylus? I am not prepared to spend $150 on a new stylus however I can get a 3 mil diamond stylus for $20 inc shipping.

What are your thoughts?

Menophanes
Victor II

Re: Using A Turntable Stylus In Diamond B Reproducer?

Post by Menophanes »

While I have no experience of the Diamond series of reproducers, it may be helpful to mention that I lately taken to using an ordinary LP disc stylus, mounted on an improvised plastic stylus-bar in a Model R reproducer, to play Blue Amberols. This gives very good clear results; the volume level is perhaps rather low, but with a large (24-inch) horn the effect is highly satisfactory. I have not been running this experiment long enough to guarantee absolutely that the stylus will not cause any wear in the records in the long term, but there is one which I have played at least ten times without any sign of injury.

Oliver Mundy.

HisMastersVoice
Auxetophone

Post by HisMastersVoice »

12jslater wrote:Could I use a 3 mil diamond stylus on my diamond B reproducer in replace of my worn stylus? I am not prepared to spend $150 on a new stylus however I can get a 3 mil diamond stylus for $20 inc shipping.

What are your thoughts?

You should be able to find an entire Diamond B with a good diamond for under $150....

As for the LP stylus, I don't know for sure but I wouldn't personally trust it. I'm not very adventurous when it comes to my records, however.

Oceangoer1
Victor III
Personal Text: "I dreamt of Paris again last night"-Roger

Post by Oceangoer1 »

A modern turntable stylus for LP's (and the one for playing 78's) is meant to track at a very low tracking force. Many times in the 1-3 or 3-7 gram range.