Mainspring Re-Greasing VV-XI

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
starr2009
Victor Jr

Mainspring Re-Greasing VV-XI

Post by starr2009 »

I'm new to this hobby and I think I'm hooked. I purchased my first machine - a Starr floor model about 3 weeks ago then last week I purchase a Victor VV-XI. My wife is saying that the Starr needs to go so I said ok but let's move it to the living room for the time being (haha).

I apologize if this is a little long winded.

I’m getting a thumping sound on wind down so I’m looking for any suggestions for the process of removing, cleaning and greasing the mainspring in my VV – XI. I believe it has two springs in a single spring barrel. How difficult is it to get the springs out and back in. Just looking at the barrel it looks like the bottom spring may be the difficult one to get back in. But that’s just an observation since I never done this before so I don’t know what to expect.

Does anyone know what direction the springs are wound and what tools I should have handy to remove them correctly. I am well versed on working on heavy mechanical equipment etc… so I think I can handle this job but I’d like some direction on what to look for on this specific piece of equipment. I want to do it right.

Any suggestion regarding what type of grease is the best for the springs. My mainsprings are releasing with a thumping sound and although the record keeps playing ok it may be causing damage. I’ve used several different types of grease in the past and found that one grease may not be suitable or the best choice for all applications. I know we want the spring to wind down smoothly so we want a grease that allows the spring bands to release without it having to fight the grease. I’m not sure if that makes sense.