Sonora Governor Parts/Adjustment

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
Frogsong
Victor Jr
Personal Text: Aircraft Engineer, Phonograph Greenhorn

Sonora Governor Parts/Adjustment

Post by Frogsong »

Hello,

I am completely new to these machines but I am a mechanical engineer and love tinkering. I recently received a Sonora Phonograph from my wife's family. Somewhere along the line, somebody made some repairs to the governor and it was a little out of whack. Luckily the weights are original, most of the screws are the same, but the spring steel strip that holds the weight had snapped at one of the screw holes and is barely hanging on by the fastener and one of the strips was replace all together. All the strips are a little bend out of shape compared to photos I have seen online (Attached) of the same setup. The Sonora plays but the it runs away on me as far as RPMs.

Can anyone explain to me how to adjust the governor along with the speed control friction pad? Any descriptions on how to adjust this setup would be really helpful, so far trial and error is all I can do.

Does anyone know where to find more of the type of spring steel used?

Thanks!
Attachments
Photo Found Online
Photo Found Online
Govenor.JPG (39.8 KiB) Viewed 1529 times

Lucius1958
Victor VI

Re: Sonora Governor Parts/Adjustment

Post by Lucius1958 »

The important thing about governor springs is that they should all be identically matched: if you replace one, you should replace them all. Check with the suppliers mentioned in the "Links" thread, to see if they have any replacements suitable for a Sonora.

In a pinch, Eric Reiss suggests (in his Compleat Talking Machine - an invaluable basic book for collectors and restorers), that you can fabricate springs out of feeler gauge stock of the correct thickness. The holes would have to be punched instead of drilled, though, owing to the hardness of the stock.