Victor VV-90 Two Spring Motor Rebuild.

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
F_R_Parker1
Victor Jr

Victor VV-90 Two Spring Motor Rebuild.

Post by F_R_Parker1 »

To start off, I am a complete layman when it comes to mechanical record players as I mainly do radio restorations. When I bought this VV-90 and cranked it up, I could get it to crank about 25 times before violently shuddering, as if something was slipping. It ran (usually) for one side of one record, and maybe half of another before petering out. I pulled the motor because it also had loud shudders of the same type while playing. I watched chilldude2007's videos on rebuilding the same motor and proceeded to take it apart. I washed off everything in kerosene (including the sealed shut spring barrel). I opened the spring barrel. Spring 1 came out without a hitch. Spring 2 was perfect until the very end when the eyelet snapped forward. Not having the time, space, or resources to heat the metal to a cherry red and make a new hole, I was going to purchase new springs. However, I noticed scoring on the spring barrel.

My first question is: Should I buy a new, preloaded spring barrel, or is it okay to still use this one?

Secondly, the governor pad is not in terrible shape (I did NOT put it in the kerosene), but it is as hard as a rock. It regulated speed okay. Should the contact plate be oiled or greased with anything to prevent it from over gripping (if that is even possible)?

Finally, I have included pictures of the drive gear and winding gear. They look to be in okay condition.

Thanks everyone,
Forrest

P.S: Sorry if I posted this in the wrong area. I've read through everything pretty closely, so this seems like the right spot.
Attachments
IMG_11081.jpg
IMG_11081.jpg (82.33 KiB) Viewed 1174 times
IMG_10991.jpg
IMG_10991.jpg (87.03 KiB) Viewed 1174 times
IMG_11051.jpg
IMG_11051.jpg (66.84 KiB) Viewed 1174 times
IMG_10971.jpg
IMG_10971.jpg (84.97 KiB) Viewed 1174 times
IMG_10961.jpg