Columbia Motor Questions - Total Newbie.

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
Bobbish
Victor Jr

Columbia Motor Questions - Total Newbie.

Post by Bobbish »

Hello everyone. I am in the process of restoring an old Columbia Grafonola. I have no idea what the model is, as the previous owners did't have a clue, nor do I.

Anyway. I have fixed the cabinet/polished the cabinet, and now I have moved on to the motor.

When I got this machine, I tore it apart and realized that it is a 3 spring motor. None of the mainsprings were in the barrels which leads me to believe that someone salvaged them from this machine long ago.

So, I took the barrels out, cleaned them up, and ordered new main springs.

When the mainsprings arrived, I found myself puzzled as I have no idea which way the mainsprings need to be wound into the barrels. I have tried a few combination, and what I have right now seems to work somewhat, but I'm not getting much playtime before it stops. Only a couple of minutes. Perhaps I am not winding it enough, but if I try to wind it too much I hear a sound and lose tension on the springs as if the tensioners (spindle) have slipped out of their groves on the spring.

The current configuration for the barrels springs is as follows

transfer gears--main spring counterclockwise--main spring counterclockwise--mainspring clockwise- crank

Some additional information:
there are 2 spindles. One fits only in the barrel which attaches to the crank. The other spindle is shared between the other 2 barrels. Also this shared spindle does not look like this one (http://forum.talkingmachine.info/downlo ... &mode=view). The pictured spindle indicates that both springs are wound in opposite directions. My spindle has rivets in the same direction, thus indicating these 2 springs must be wound in the same direction.

Next issue. My tone arm is still and doesn't want to move left and right with the record tracks. How do you get this apart to sand down/lubricate?