VV 400...I'm new to this...

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
Biergen
Victor Jr

VV 400...I'm new to this...

Post by Biergen »

Hello, Hello. I'm new to the forum and would appreciate any suggestions! This past weekend I attended a estate sale here in Marquette, MI and came across a working Victor Talking Machine, model VV 400. (you'll see it below) It seemed to be in pretty good condition and looked to be complete. The only things that were immediately noticeable were a splotch of paint on the top and one missing door knob. It was the last day of the sale and they were getting rid of everything half price. I paid $37.50 for the machine as well as an additional $7 for 30 records. It was a heck of a deal. So, I get it home and I read up on Victrola maintenance and restoration and decide that I should first check out, clean and lubricate the motor. However, I discover that it is missing the Motor board knob to lift it out. I don't want to wreck anything so I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to how I should I lift the board? Any ideas? Thanks for your help.
Attachments
DSCF0920.JPG
DSCF0924.JPG

gramophoneshane
Victor VI

Re: VV 400...I'm new to this...

Post by gramophoneshane »

I usually remove the turntable & lift it by the turntable spindle, grabbing the motor board once there's enough room to do so.

Brad
Victor III
Personal Text: So many phonographs, so little money

Post by Brad »

Welcome to board Beirgen and welcome to your first of many, many, machines :lol:

$45 for your first machine and records is a good deal and you will learn so much from this modest investment, it will more than pay for itself on your next acquisition.