minor restoration

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
utvols1209
Victor Jr

minor restoration

Post by utvols1209 »

I have a victor VV XI that needs some minor repair . I bought a rebuilt motor and installed it without problem. The major problem now is when I crank the motor and place the needle on the record , the turntable spins but the record does not . That may make some of you laugh but I have no idea why that would happen . This is my first attempt at playing a record on this machine and to be honest I could probably figure this out after trial and error but I am somewhat concerned I may have done something wrong already and thought I would ask what may cause this before I continued . By the way it is a 78 record and the needle in the reproducer is old , I have new ones but again did not want to start guessing without asking first . Thanks

Tinkerbell
Victor III

Re: minor restoration

Post by Tinkerbell »

utvols1209 wrote:when I crank the motor and place the needle on the record , the turntable spins but the record does not
For the sake of clarification, do you mean that the record just stays in place with the turntable turning underneath it with the needle on the record? Or does the record start turning and then grinds to a stop? Does the record turn with the turntable when the needle is not placed on the record? :rose:

alang
VTLA
Personal Text: TMF Moderator

Post by alang »

:!: First of all, you always have to use a new steel needle for every play, otherwise it will ruin your records. Steel needles are single use only :!:
Even if your player came with needles, they may be old and worn. The safest bet if you cannot be sure is to buy new needles, they are cheap.