The mystery machine

Discussions on Talking Machines of British or European Manufacture
moosepr
Victor Jr

The mystery machine

Post by moosepr »

Hi guys, I'm new to the world of gramophones, inherited a stack of 78's and decided they needed playing properly!

Managed to acquire a cheap picnic gramophone in need of TLC, but I'm struggling to identify exactly what it is.
IMG_20210420_202244.jpg
The listing claimed it was thorens because that is stamped on the motor, but I have looked through all the catalogues im unable to find anything that looks similar.

The motor looks to be in good condition, and similar to the one that mrgstuff serviced on YouTube (it was after watching those videos I decided to take the plunge). The listing mentioned a clicking noise, which turns out was because the speed control lever wasn't attached, so everything went too fast and the governor weights started touching things they shouldn't!
IMG_20210421_200452.jpg
IMG_20210421_200610.jpg
Turns out the motor seems fully functional, I just need to tweak the speed adjuster
IMG_20210421_200649.jpg
The sound box has no markings, but seems to be complete and makes plenty of noise
IMG_20210421_200759.jpg
IMG_20210421_200826.jpg
The horn is a really simple curved box
IMG_20210421_200947.jpg
I can't see any markings on the box, the only thing I have found is an id number on the needle tray
IMG_20210421_200702.jpg
And this on the box catches (which look upside down to me)
IMG_20210421_201317.jpg
The only other interesting thing is a threaded rod attached to the inside of the lid. I'm assuming it's so you can bolt on a few 78's and take them with you for your picnic
IMG_20210421_200956.jpg
I would like to get it back fully working and in its original configuration. Planning on servicing the motor and straightening the motor board, just would be nice to know what it is :D

Anyone any idea?

Thanks, Pete

epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: An analogue relic trapped in a digital world.