Estophone?

Discussions on Talking Machines of British or European Manufacture
CarlosV
Victor IV

Estophone?

Post by CarlosV »

On French eBay:
https://www.ebay.fr/itm/185594669716?ha ... R4zXv6nvYA

Genuine or fake? Cylindrical machines are always suspicious, but the horn assembly on this one looks authentic and unique. Has anyone ever heard of the brand Estophone? The seller has several machines for sale, some genuine but with replacement or missing parts like soundboxes, others dodgy ...

Steve
Victor VI
Location: London, Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin, New York, Evesham

Re: Estophone?

Post by Steve »

I'd say this was completely genuine but I'm not an expert on the less well known continental machines. It looks the part to me but I'm not sure what you mean by cylindrical machines? The link points to a disc gramophone?

CarlosV
Victor IV

Post by CarlosV »

Steve wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 2:32 pm I'd say this was completely genuine but I'm not an expert on the less well known continental machines. It looks the part to me but I'm not sure what you mean by cylindrical machines? The link points to a disc gramophone?
I meant cylindrical in the shape of the machine body, Steve, like many modern crapophones. But I agree with you that it looks genuine.

Steve
Victor VI

Post by Steve »

CarlosV wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 3:20 pm
Steve wrote: Mon Sep 26, 2022 2:32 pm I'd say this was completely genuine but I'm not an expert on the less well known continental machines. It looks the part to me but I'm not sure what you mean by cylindrical machines? The link points to a disc gramophone?
I meant cylindrical in the shape of the machine body, Steve, like many modern crapophones. But I agree with you that it looks genuine.
It's a really nice machine actually. If it was over here I'd definitely be interested myself.

OrthoFan
Victor V

Post by OrthoFan »

It's certainly interesting looking.
Capture.JPG
Capture2.JPG
Based on the design, it looks like it might sound pretty good.