eBay

Post links to auctions and classifieds here
Raphael
Victor IV

eBay

Post by Raphael »

For the benefit of those members of the Forum that sell on eBay, here's a new example of their bizarre, dysfunctional business practices. I was recently suspended for mentioning in a listing that layaway plans were available to prospective purchasers. eBay said this could lead to fraud and in the interests of protecting their customers such payment plans are not allowed. I can't find it in their rules, but nonetheless instead of just advising me of their new rule (after all, I've been offering layaways without reprimand for almost 15 years), they went ahead and canceled the listing and suspended me for 3 days.

Happy Holidays to all!

Raphael

gemering
Victor IV

Re: eBay

Post by gemering »

Unbelievable!
ebay = incredible greed + absurdity.
(I'm a math professor) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dave
Victor II
Personal Text: Gramophonist

Post by Dave »

Leave it to Ebay to arbitrarily and capriciously decide to change the rules (or make new ones up) and mistreat an
otherwise excellent seller. Your perfectly justified in your indignation. :x

Happy Holidays to you too! :)
Dave

Phonofreak
Victor VI

Post by Phonofreak »

Wow, that's the stupidest thing that I ever heard of. A lot of us are on a budget. Most of my large purchases are layaway. I just paid off a late model Victor II, from a well known seller. I guess the secret is not to advertize layaway in your listing. If a potential buyer asks about a layaway, then let the buyer know. If I am interested in something, and I see that it will be expensive, I ask the sellers permission about a layaway. 99.99 % will do it. I pay a deposit, and pay off the item in a couple of months. It's a win-win situation. I'm so sorry that this happened to you, Raphael. Besides, you have your website for purchasers to look at and buy. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all.
Harvey Kravitz

epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special