"Trade Mark" on UK eBay

Post links to auctions and classifieds here
epigramophone
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: An analogue relic trapped in a digital world.

"Trade Mark" on UK eBay

Post by epigramophone »

This looks "right" to me, but I am no expert on these early machines. No doubt others will have more to tell us :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Very-Rare-Tra ... 79f45bb7ll

Valecnik
Victor VI
Personal Text: Edison Records - Close your eyes and see if the artist does not actually seem to be before you.

Re: "Trade Mark" on UK eBay

Post by Valecnik »

wow I think it is correct but maybe Gramophone78 or one of the others that knows Berliners better can comment. I'd love to have it.

Steve
Victor VI
Location: London, Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin, New York, Evesham

Post by Steve »

I wouldn't touch it with your wallet, unless I could see it in person first!

There are far too many "genuine" TRADEMARK machines out there for my liking and a lot of them are wrong or missing original parts. You can't tell for definite with lousy low resolution pictures.

VintageTechnologies
Victor IV

Post by VintageTechnologies »

Steve, I agree about the lousy pictures. I really can't fathom the mindset of people who would hope to sell something for thousands of Pounds and yet can't be bothered to take large, focussed, well-lit pictures! My cell phone takes larger pictures than that, much less a cheap Canon pocket digital. /rant

I'm not a Berliner expert either, but the whole package looks authentic. The only part that I would quickly suspect is the leather elbow; it looks too good compared to the rusted metal parts. The record hold-down clamp may be missing unless I've overlooked it.

soundgen
Victor VI

Post by soundgen »

The original carrying case is brilliant and is probably why it looks so good , definitely worth having if you could afford it

Steve
Victor VI

Post by Steve »

The original carrying case is brilliant and is probably why it looks so good