Grading 78 rpm Shellac Discs ??

Buy, sell, or trade your records, cylinders or other recordings here
hydnar
Victor Jr

Grading 78 rpm Shellac Discs ??

Post by hydnar »

Hello All!

I will preface this request with the statement that if this is not the right place to post this query, please reply and I will remove it immediately.

I am trying to get a sense of the proper way to grade 78 rpm shellac records. I have sold enough 33 rpm lps that I feel very confident in my ability to grade them, but I am just getting started with 78s. I know is a subjective task. I have uploaded both sides of a record I have to youtube. Would anyone care to take a look and listen and give me their opinion on grading? I have also attached some pics of the record.

Thanks in advance for anyone who participates!

hydnar

Arkansas Travellers - Washboard Blues / Boneyard Shuffle - Harmony 332-H 78 rpm 10"

[YouTubeHD]https://youtu.be/Gk01-vfGoPQ[/YouTubeHD]
[YouTubeHD]https://youtu.be/mFibFBL_bfg[/YouTubeHD]
Attachments
IMG_9901.jpg
IMG_9905.jpg
Last edited by hydnar on Fri Mar 11, 2022 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Victor VI

Re: Granding 78 rpm Shellac Discs ??

Post by 52089 »

The standard grading system for 78s is the one created by Vintage Jazz Mart. Info here:

https://www.vjm.biz/grading.html

Yes, it's subjective, but it's also pretty much universally accepted at this point.

CarlosV
Victor IV

Post by CarlosV »

With the caveat of the limited quality of reproduction imparted by you tube, I would rate the record as VG+. Harmony pressings when in good condition are very good, with low background noise. I heard quite some clicks and pops (sign of scratches in the record) as well as background noise. The wear is easier to discern in a live audition, but it seemed pretty good from that standpoint. But this is very subjective, including the popularly adopted criterion referred above, which in itself is not consistent, mixing up visual with sonic condition (shiny surface etc).