s

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
larryh
Victor IV

Re: Edison Electric Phonographs

Post by larryh »

I am no expert here, but isn't the electric edison record a different system and wouldn't be interchangeable?

Valecnik
Victor VI
Personal Text: Edison Records - Close your eyes and see if the artist does not actually seem to be before you.

Post by Valecnik »

Having owned both a C2 and C4 Edison Electric, (both expertly rebuilt)I would say they sound about as good a similar victor, columbia or brunswick product of that era. They have that somewhat mellower more full "tube sound" you get with a tube amplifier. They did not seem as sharp and crisp as an acoustic phonograph. Of course they were somewhat louder than an acoustic but not a great deal so, even at full volume.

If you lack space and want one setup to play both lateral and vertical discs, I would suggest you buy a circa 1960 tube amp. I have a fischer 500C. Add a 10 band equalizer of any vintage. I have a 1970's yamaha. Buy a new turntable from Esoteric sound or one or some other company and the appropriate styli, at least a .35mil and .5mill (best for diamond discs. With that combination, dropping the high and low bands of the EQ way down, you get that 1929 tube sound, clearer and more crisp and enough volume, if you like that, to wake the dead (with virtually no record wear). You can add other equipment like de-clicker to clean it up even further but it's really not necessary.

I still like to play the records on original equipment too, and I do. However if it's really optimal sound out of vertical and lateral records I'm after I use my setup as described above.

Valecnik
Victor VI
Personal Text: Edison Records - Close your eyes and see if the artist does not actually seem to be before you.

Post by Valecnik »

PS: The later electric diamond discs and 78s are awesome on such a setup of course but you can make even the old black label diamond discs sound very very good.

Valecnik
Victor VI