gramophoneshane
Victor VI

Is this for real?

Post by gramophoneshane »

bbphonoguy
Victor III

Re: Is this for real?

Post by bbphonoguy »

I'm not an expert, so I'm pretty much wasting your time with this reply, but it seems too good to be true. It even has the "knob" for holding the records in place on the turntable. It all looks to shiny and too complete. On the other hand, who's to say that this couldn't have survived all these years in good shape? Just because it's unlikely doesn't make it impossible. Still, I'd ask for a lot more photos and close-ups before bidding.

That's one of the problems with on-line auctions, it's always good to see and handle the item you want before making a bid. Buying from a photo can be like buying a pig in a poke.

OrthoFan
Victor V

Post by OrthoFan »

If you're asking whether any were made with a mahogany case, the answer is yes, though these rarely surface today, so I can't say how original the one on eBay is.

Some other examples are described on these pages:

BERLINER "TRADEMARK" in MAHOGANY CASE -- http://www.edisontinfoil.com/bermah.htm

BERLINER Registry Project -- http://www.berliner.netfirms.com/machines.htm

Edisone
Victor IV

Post by Edisone »

Odd. I bid on it, and was the high bidder for a while - then got an Ebay notice that they removed the listing "so we can confirm that the seller is not putting you or other eBay members at risk."

gramophone78
Victor VI

Post by gramophone78 »

This was a scam.This machine was sold a few weeks ago and is being enjoyed by it's new owner.The machine is very real and all original.It's past owner and I informed ebay this morning and it took them hours to pull it.This be a lesson to the ones that bid......be careful of "0" feedback sellers!!!.It is also the same machine you see in the registry site that was posted.

TinfoilPhono
Victor IV

Post by TinfoilPhono »