First Machine! Monarch Jr: need info/help

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
LtFrenchFries
Victor Jr

First Machine! Monarch Jr: need info/help

Post by LtFrenchFries »

I’ve been collecting old 78s for a long time, but just decided to get into phonograph collecting too. The other day, I bought (from what I can tell with my limited knowledge) a Victor Monarch Jr. It still spins but is a little shakey and I didn’t want to try to open it out the fear I might break something.

That being said, I’m very new to this and know very little information, as it’s hard to find online. I was able to find the sticker on the bottom that says it was made in 1902 but other than that I could use some help. Any general info (how many were made, value, etc) or information on how to restore it (unless it would be better off as is) would be greatly appreciated. I’m very new and know could use any info I can get!
Attachments
D74D4477-E112-4E33-BB7D-0D9F84052317.jpeg
B24E06C8-DD20-4B87-AB5B-6D34AB10723A.jpeg
EA58735D-C6C4-413D-A35C-FB7A15582BA0.jpeg
E3C24BA2-229F-4225-A028-CBAD1C3617F2.jpeg

FellowCollector
Victor IV

Re: First Machine! Monarch Jr: need info/help

Post by FellowCollector »

Congratulations! A Victor E with Gibson arm. You did well. Enjoy!

Doug

fran604g
Victor VI
Personal Text: I'm Feeling Cranky

Post by fran604g »

Congratulations, and welcome to the forum.

The Type E went through several variations over its production life. The best information available is in the book "Look for the Dog", by Robert Baumbach, and is readily available for purchase on the web.

Another great resource is Paul Edie's website found here: http://www.victor-victrola.com/Victor%20E.htm

Best,
Fran
Francis; "i" for him, "e" for her
"Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while" - the unappreciative supervisor.

drh
Victor IV
Personal Text: A Pathé record...with care will live to speak to your grandchildren when they are as old as you are

Post by drh »