I’m new to this

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
PeanutTheRabbit
Victor Jr
Personal Text: Am bunny

I’m new to this

Post by PeanutTheRabbit »

hello all! I’m Peanut. I just bought my first phonograph yesterday. A victor Victrola the fourth. For 125$ at a record store. All the gaskets are petrified, and it needs oil. But I just thought I’d make a discussion to kinda meet some of y’all. I’m a little intimidated by the...to me...somewhat complex mechanics of a phonograph.

I’ll put up some pictures of my machine tomorrow.

VanEpsFan1914
Victor VI
Personal Text: I've got both kinds of music--classical & rag-time.

Re: I’m new to this

Post by VanEpsFan1914 »

Hey there--welcome to the Talking Machine Forum! My first phonograph was a Victrola, and I just got a VV-IV like you have last week from one of our members here who was clearing up and happened to pass it along and I am going to be restoring it eventually. They're nice little machines.

The matter of oiling-- With a single spring motor you have probably the easiest thing in the world to service. There should be an oiling diagram on the bottom. Run it all the way down, spin the platter a couple times to get all the energy out of the springs. Then you can start disassembling it. To save the motor, use good screwdrivers that actually fit the screws. Take the spring out then the governor (by loosening a bearing on one end, moving it, and then pop the governor out.) When you take out the center shaft there is a ball bearing hiding in a cup under the turntable shaft. It HAS to be there or otherwise, it just won't run. Save all that. You can clean the parts in denatured alcohol with a brass bristle brush. I like to use kerosene on a brush to scrub away the grease. Automotive brake cleaner works too. (All this actual scrubbing is done outside of course.)