Silvertone ID (possibly XI 1918?) and general advice

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
thewordscomealive
Victor Jr

Silvertone ID (possibly XI 1918?) and general advice

Post by thewordscomealive »

Hello! I just bought a Silvertone phonograph from an estate sale down the street for $100 (including a big box of records), and I am a complete beginner at all things phonographs (and records in general). I've poked around the forum a fair amount as well as elsewhere on the web, and it seems that it is most likely a model XI from 1918, but I would love confirmation - some photos I've seen of this model have a different looking grill plate and scrolls along the side. If anyone has photos or, even better, schematics of this machine or something similar, that would be absolutely wonderful!
IMG_2806.jpg
IMG_2807.jpg
IMG_2809.jpg
catalog1918sear_0980.jpg
You might be able to see in the pictures that the outside wood's not in the best shape - it was stored in a basement. The alligatoring near the top is fine, and I can live with the dull wood, though I'd love tips on restoring it if possible. What I'm most worried about is that towards the bottom the finish is completely crumbling off. Is there a way to repair this or at least minimize the damage without completely refinishing the piece?

It otherwise seems to run pretty well, though I'm probably not a particularly good judge :lol: I do think the reproducer should be repaired or replaced though if that seems feasible - the rubber inside is definitely all dried out. I'm also not sure that the arm is sitting entirely correctly, as when it comes down off the player it hits the base or the side of the used needle cup, rather than floating above it, if that makes sense?

So glad this forum exists, and thanks in advance for any help!

Jerry B.
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: Stop for a visit when in Oregon.

Re: Silvertone ID (possibly XI 1918?) and general advice

Post by Jerry B. »