Playing "newer" records on Victor VIII

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
smitharthur
Victor I
Personal Text: smitharthur

Playing "newer" records on Victor VIII

Post by smitharthur »

I have a serviced and rebuilt Victrola VIII. It has a fully serviced and rebuilt Exhibition reproducer. My understanding is that there are more "modern" reproducers that might be suitable for playing electric and post-WW2 records. I am still fairly new to this hobby. Are there compatible reproducers that will work on this machine, that I can swap out as needed, and that wont cost an arm and a leg? I really dont like playing any 78's on a turntable, as the 3 mil stylus and modern amplification really does emphasize the pops and clicks. And no, I do not want to "convert them to digital", as I do not have the time or the patience, and generally don't care for the results.

Inigo
Victor VI
Personal Text: Keep'em well oiled

Re: Playing "newer" records on Victor VIII

Post by Inigo »

The no2 Victor or HMV soundbox is compatible, and being more compliant, it would be better for electrical recordings. And better the no4. The problem with this is that it's far larger than the Exhibition, and the angle of the needle on the record will be far from the recommended value.
There's another possibility which I've used with success, and it is too use the Exhibition with very soft needles. I've found that the RECOTON type (those needles with the thin needle protruding from the thicker shaft) is good for playing modern 78s with the Exhibition. Provided that they are not vinyl based records (i. e. the Victors of the late forties, the later Capitols and Deccas and MGMs, al those staring in their labels that they are pressed in vinylite, Deccalite, Metrolite or similar "unbreakable" material for late 78s; they feel unmistakably plastic, thin and light). The problem with these is that the record material gets destroyed under the heavy soundboxes.
Here's the type of needle I mentioned