Edison Standard Model B

Discussions on Talking Machines & Accessories
zhenya01
Victor Jr

Edison Standard Model B

Post by zhenya01 »

Hi all, I finally got to my Edison Standard Model B that I got a year ago.

Last Christmas I had Steve Medved from Florida rebuild the Type C reproducer, so that part is done.
I pulled the mechanism with bedplate out of the cabinet. It is pretty amazing, no rust, all oiled inside, and some dust bunnies.
There are no worn or damaged gears, belt feels to be in good condition.

The top part of mechanism definitely needs cleaning, polishing and oiling.

I have been reading instructions that Steve sent me, and Eric Reiss's book all evening yesterday to figure out what to do now. Also just started reading articles on antiquephono website, and will take a look at available stickies on this forum.

I'm a total newbie to crank phonographs, so any advice is more than welcome.
20210827_164902.jpg
20210827_162542.jpg

AZ*
Victor IV

Re: Edison Standard Model B

Post by AZ* »

Welcome to the party, pal!
Welcome.jpg
Welcome.jpg (24.29 KiB) Viewed 1077 times
Seriously, however, you have come to the right place. :clover:
Best regards ... AZ*

Burt68
Victor Jr

Post by Burt68 »

As another newbie, I have a question. When you’re not using the unit, do you leave the spring mostly wound or let most all the tension out?

Are there any other tips to minimize wear and tear?

My unit seems to do better if I exercise it every few days.

dzavracky
Victor IV
Personal Text: college collector

Post by dzavracky »

Welcome to the forum!

My advice for the top works is to make sure that the carriage can slide on that rod as freely as possible. If you haven't taken apart of one these before I would definitely recommend taking good pictures of it before hand so you know exactly how it goes back together.

Good luck!

David

dzavracky
Victor IV
Personal Text: college collector

Post by dzavracky »