Triumph Cylinder record

Discussions on Records, Recording, & Artists
dzavracky
Victor IV
Personal Text: college collector

Triumph Cylinder record

Post by dzavracky »

I am new to collection cylinders. What do you guys know about this record?
Attachments
6F3F7649-E80B-4332-AC91-524CC9FD3994.jpeg
A4E52A03-ACF7-429B-8B86-88035BE63CA1.jpeg

edisonphonoworks
Victor IV
Personal Text: A new blank with authentic formula and spiral core!

Re: Triumph Cylinder record

Post by edisonphonoworks »

The cylinder looks to be of recent manufacture (Maybe in the last 15-30 years). I wonder if it was someone who recorded on Miller Morris blanks or made their own. Is it a spiral core blank, ribbed core, or smooth bore record? I made some blanks that looked like this before 2010, which were smoothbore, though the box is definitely not mine.

dzavracky
Victor IV

Post by dzavracky »

Oh how neat! I'll post more picutres of it when I get it this weekend

gramophoneshane
Victor VI

Post by gramophoneshane »

That's something I've never seen before. I'm guessing it's a modern cylinder box though, simply because there's an Edison machine pictured.
I doubt back in the day, Edison would have let that happen.
Then again maybe it was a short lived company because upon release Edison sued??
Still, with no apparent company information such as an address etc, I'm leaning towards it being a modern fantasy label.

VanEpsFan1914
Victor VI
Personal Text: I've got both kinds of music--classical & rag-time.

Post by VanEpsFan1914 »

Now that might have something interesting on it!

recordmaker
Victor I

Post by recordmaker »

Triumph records were made just before Miller Morris Blanks were available(1981). the box is nice to see, as this might be one company who made more records than boxes, my copy of "five foot two" came across the Atlantic in cardboard packing box and wrapped only in newspaper.