Acoustic versus Electric recording?

Discussions on Records, Recording, & Artists
Frisco The Beagle
Victor I
Personal Text: Always looking for V-Discs!

Acoustic versus Electric recording?

Post by Frisco The Beagle »

Is there a quick and easy way to tell if a record was recorded acoustically or electrically?

I only recently joined this forum and learned of the two different methods of recording, and also of the need to play them on the appropriate type of machine so as not to degrade the record. Up to now tho, all my records have just been going under the needle of the Victrola :oops:. I did learn pretty quickly that the flimsier feeling, newer (1950-ish) records just bog the Victrola waaaay down :oops: :roll: so I stopped doing that.

Some of the labels on records I have give clues as to the method of recording, and I've read here that there is a time frame in which most companies switched over to electrical recording. But as a beginner, I am wondering if there is a quick and dirty method to tell the difference.

Thanks in advance for any help, and my apologies as I know my past indiscretions as described above will cause many to cringe!! :shock:

gramophone-georg
Victor VI
Personal Text: Northwest Of Normal

Re: Acoustic versus Electric recording?

Post by gramophone-georg »

For starters, a VE in the runoff of a Victor record denotes an electric recording, and a "W" near the matrix number on a Columbia does, too.
"He who dies with the most shellac wins"- some nutty record geek

recordmaker
Victor I

Post by recordmaker »

I think the Victor/ HMV eccentric auto shut off groove came in at about the same time as electrical recording.

By the time the 1940 and 50s records were pressed I think that all companies were allowed to use it.

gramophone-georg
Victor VI

recordmaker wrote:I think the Victor/ HMV eccentric auto shut off groove came in at about the same time as electrical recording.