Victrola Credenza grill cloth

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
SittingRabbit
Victor I

Victrola Credenza grill cloth

Post by SittingRabbit »

Hello all, novice here with my first post. About a year ago, I bought a victrola credenza at a yard sale. Just about everything needs restored on it.

Then last week, I bought another one that has a great looking cabinet, but the motor is gone and it was replaced with a motor back in the 60s (see picture 6). The speed control is gone, but there's an on/off switch in its place (see picture 5), with the power cord coming out the crank hole. It's very quiet, runs at the correct speed, and works great. However, the gold plating needs redone on the reproducer, arm, needle cup, etc (suggestions on who could restore the gold?). I tried cleaning the grill cloth, but I ripped it a little and I feel sick about it (see picture 4 and 3 that I took after I removed the grill boardup out of the top by taking out the 4 screws and wiggling it up out). I have around a hundred new needles that I bought off of ebay from a victrola guy in Gettysburg, plus I have several thousand 78 records (yes, that many as some guy had a garage full of them and they were free). I recently purchased a replacement grill cloth from APSCO in Vermont (see picture 2) which they said was loomed by an old woman years ago specific for orthophonic players, which looks close to the original. I'm going to keep the original grill cloth, maybe mend it (any thoughts on the best course of action?), but wouldn't dream of throwing it away as it belongs with its history.

FYLP Restoration in Binghamton, NY restored my GE grandfather clock radio from 1930 (haven't picked it up yet), and they restore victrolas too, but I don't know how historically accurate they are.

How does one take out the inlets that holds the grill cloth in (see picture 1)? Are they glued in? They seem tight in there. I obviously don't want to snap them. Thoughts?