New guy in need of advice - Fairly deep scratch on my VVX

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
ChicagoVVX
Victor Jr
Personal Text: Citizen of Chicago, Steward of Great-Grandfather's Victor Victrola X.

New guy in need of advice - Fairly deep scratch on my VVX

Post by ChicagoVVX »

Hello all, I'm the steward of my VVX, a family heirloom gifted to my great-grandparents on their wedding day in the mid-1920's. I've resolved myself to touch up the finish, first using Howard Products' Clean-A-Finish and then Restor-A-Finish. But first, I think I need to deal with a fairly deep scratch on the side of the VVX. I don't expect or want the machine to be 'perfect', but I do think that a light sanding before Clean-A-Finish & Restor-A-Finish go on might be smart. If the sanded area doesn't accept stain, I thought I'd hide the area using a stain marker. Anyway, I'm a definite novice at this and was in search of advice as far as what kind of grit(s) I might use. A couple of photos are attached and any guidance is appreciated.
Attachments
Scratch.jpg
VVX.jpg

JerryVan
Victor Monarch Special

Re: New guy in need of advice - Fairly deep scratch on my VVX

Post by JerryVan »

Coloring the "scratch" is a good idea. Sanding is NOT a good idea. Just use the cleaner & restorer that you mention. Others may suggest using the Non-Pumice GOJO as a cleaner, which also works well.

Dave D
Victor IV

Post by Dave D »

A professional touch up guy can make that go away. That is a pretty bad gouge and since this is a family heirloom, I suggest getting professional help. We can't all be good at everything and it is OK to admit something is more than our skill set can handle.
Dave D

Jerry B.
Victor Monarch Special
Personal Text: Stop for a visit when in Oregon.

Post by Jerry B. »