Victor Victrola Speed Control Arm

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
Sherazhyder
Victor I
Personal Text: Another Gramophone Enthusiast

Victor Victrola Speed Control Arm

Post by Sherazhyder »

A friend of mine has brought me a Victor Victrola four spring motor for repair probably belonging to XVII. I am a simple hobbyist accustomed to work with HMV or Swiss made machines. Therefore I am stuck to find that a spring on speed control arm is missing thus the arm freely moves left and right. It can easily collide with the governor springs and break them. He has bought a spring on the eBay but none of us knows how the spring is installed in the machine. Any other local technical support is not available too.

I will appreciate if I get a step wise guidance for installation of the spring on the speed control arm.
Thanks and best regards
Sheraz

Inigo
Victor VI
Personal Text: Keep'em well oiled

Re: Victor Victrola Speed Control Arm

Post by Inigo »

A photo of the motor would help to settle things right... At least we'd know which motor is it, and what speed control it has...
Inigo

Sherazhyder
Victor I

Post by Sherazhyder »

Inigo wrote: Wed Nov 16, 2022 5:12 pm A photo of the motor would help to settle things right... At least we'd know which motor is it, and what speed control it has...
Here is the motor. You can see the regulator housing is missing and I am going to buy it. The spring arm link
has a broken spring and I do not know how does it work; how is it taken out and how is this spring replaced and arm installed in the motor. Your help will mean a lot. Thanks and regards
Sheraz
Attachments
284764C4-190C-4A8A-92FE-BC8B38F828F6.jpeg
564F5F63-E490-44ED-B1D2-02365622E350.jpeg
EDD878A2-FD53-4880-971F-7175FAAAD9FB.png

Sherazhyder
Victor I

Post by Sherazhyder »