spring lube and cracked casting help please

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
xtal_01
Victor Jr
Personal Text: I repair toys to tractors

spring lube and cracked casting help please

Post by xtal_01 »

OK ... first time I have touched a machine like this (I am a machinist by trade).

So, I was given a Victor Victrola ... VV-XVI ... free

Decent shape fore its age (typical dents, some wood damaged and split) but broken.

I took the motor off ..... some one had been into it before me ... screws were all loose.

I was afraid the springs were broken (three spring machine) ... but they are all in decent shape!

I see the shear pin behind the gear has sheared off.

So ... I will put a new pin in.

The grease (almost looks like graphite) it dry and caked in the springs ... almost solid.

If I soak the springs and get most of the junk out, what kind of grease do I put back in?

If I don't take out the springs, will it work it's way into the springs?

Also, the support casting holding the drum is cracked.

The crack is more than half way up so the bearing is staying in place.

Is there any chance of finding a new casting or ????

Thanks .... Mike
Attachments
IMG_2499.JPG
IMG_2500.JPG
IMG_2463.JPG
IMG_2466.JPG

Marco Gilardetti
Victor IV
Personal Text: F. Depero, "Grammofono", 1923.

Re: spring lube and cracked casting help please

Post by Marco Gilardetti »

Hello Mike. You seem to be quite experienced with mechanics, however a three-springs machine is definitely a tough "starter" in this hobby. ;)