first attempt at re-felting a turntable

Share your phonograph repair & restoration techniques here
Sansenoi
Victor O
Personal Text: Mankind has far passed the day that the day was met in wonderment and not expectation

first attempt at re-felting a turntable

Post by Sansenoi »

For those who read my topic post about how to handle my abused old turntable felt I wish to thank you for giving suggestions.

Since it fell apart to a worse state while trying to clean it I had to re-felt.

Here is the results in the attached photo.before and after photo.

Since this is my first attempt, if anyone sees anything wrong with how it looks please let me know in case I ever have to do it again.

If the text in the picture is too small to read it says," The felt is called "Reets Relish" 20% wool from Jo-Ann Fabric (also online) for $8.99 a yard if you like it. It is a felt with darker color variations in it (with pattern like in money fiber) to give it an "antique" look."

This may be the felt spoken about in other posts that mention Jo-Ann fabric store felt so, if you're looking for it online you don't have to guess from a picture.
Attachments
turntablerefelting.jpg

EdisonPhonographGuy
Victor O
Personal Text: Edison Phonographs

Re: first attempt at re-felting a turntable

Post by EdisonPhonographGuy »

Looks good. Looks better than my first one. Where did you get your felt? The color is nice. I ended up getting a little darker green on my last one. I got it from Walt somers
revive all kinds of edison cylinder phonographs and roller organs

EdisonPhonographGuy
Victor O
Personal Text: Edison Phonographs

Post by EdisonPhonographGuy »

duhh totally missed it. Jo-ann fabrics. Never thought of that. I don't know what I would do if I had to cut one myself. lol
revive all kinds of edison cylinder phonographs and roller organs

Sansenoi
Victor O
Personal Text: Mankind has far passed the day that the day was met in wonderment and not expectation

Post by Sansenoi »